Personalization VS Flexibility

3 Nov

Reading Daniel Roth’s article on “Google’s Open Source OS Will Free the Wireless Web” really gave me a great insight on the behind-the-scene story of Google & Android. I personally think that Google had done a fantastic job throughout the year of – with longer histories than any other search engines such as Yahoo! and Ask.com – beginning with just a simple layout design. From my personal experience, ever since I started using the Internet, I was stuck with Yahoo! (aren’t we?) and later on I shifted to Firefox. But both browsers create major headache for me when both are exposed to the issue of lagging and non-responding moments. It was really frustrating. Then, eventually, I discovered Google Chrome and Google, which solved most of my problems. And despite being a person who don’t really like complicated designs and overload information, I was attracted in using the web browser and the search engine.

I really admire Google. In merely 13 years time, it manages to grow and stand tall above its competitors. But what I adore most of Google is the partnership in developing the mobile software Android. 10 years ago, when we started using mobile phones, we never know that they have a software. We only know that mobile phones are just communication devices for us to keep in touch with each other through phone calls and text messages. But comparing today’s mobile phones with the first ever mobile phones we had 10 years ago, it’s like the birth of a whole new mobile device generation. Mobile phones had evolved. And personally, the mobile software installed in each and every ‘newer-generation’ mobile phones play the most important part in order for this evolution to take place.

Previously, the Symbian OS owned by Nokia had been dominating the mobile market. Then iPhone’s iOS came into the game; after a short while, Google & Android decided to take their pieces on the chessboard. In my opinion, it is true that individuals today are moving from desktops to laptops, and now to mobile devices. The possible reason for this shift is the fact that individuals today are yearning for more adaptability and portability. What’s better than possessing a mobile phone that can allow you to do everything a laptop can do? You do not need to carry the heavy laptop everywhere you go, and mobile phones are definitely cheaper and more portable than the laptops. Why not?
Apple’s iPhone is indeed a great invention. A masterpiece, perhaps. But one thing that turn me off from iPhone is the fact that the phone is being too controlled over every single thing I wish to do with the phone. For me, it’s really frustrating. I had spent much on the phone, it should be the end of the phone-purchasing story. But instead, I have to pay more for applications purchase and data plans, and I can’t even customize my phone with my free will. Isn’t that a bit too controlled? Thus, iPhone is honestly not my choice of phone.
However, phone with software such as Symbian, Android, and Microsoft is a total opposite of iPhone’s iOS. I never purchase any Android-software phone but I do have the experience of using one. Currently using a phone with the Symbian software, I do feel that the phone is a lot more flexible in terms that I am able to customize & personalize my phone according to my own liking. I can also install more applications without wasting too much money on them.
Comparing both software, I personally feel that due to the fact that the Internet is advancing towards a more decentralized system, it can be implied that users today are inclined towards a freedom system, allowing them to communicate and ‘move around’ in a more flexible manner. Thus, it is also important for mobile phone software to highlight this need of the users and meet their expectations in order to allow the users in creating a positive impression towards the product, which will definitely help in boosting sales. We can definitely see that both Android and iOS are similar in a certain way, but the main difference of both software is the authority/power control towards the software-development, and in my opinion, that certainly plays an important part in the software-development in determining the direction they are going.Looking at the marketing perspective of Google, it is obvious that Google development with Android is a long-term marketing strategy. It’s not hard to realize that Google today is the most frequently used search engine globally. No doubt that the investment of Google into the mobile devices through Android is a profitable investment. As mentioned, people today are constantly connected online, the increased usage of mobile devices will definitely increase the usage of Internet. And in the end of the day, Google will definitely be the ending point of every strategy. This is indeed, an effective yet profitable strategy implemented by Google.
One Response to “Personalization VS Flexibility”

  1. irenechia November 15, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Agree that Iphone are very controllable. For instance, when I downloaded a free game and I reached a certain level and I need to purchase the game in order to continue the level. There are almost 10 games that I deleted after I know that I need to purchase the game in order to continue with my level. That’s why I am more interested on Android phone such as Samsung Galaxy Note. It is because Samsung Galaxy have more features than iphone such as we can just customize how we want to unlock our phone by using slides or swipe to anywhere. However, Iphone only limit us with using slide to unlock. If we want to customize the lock, we actually need to purchase the apps. That is the reason why Android phone are now becoming the top platforms.

Leave a Reply

